On Essays that are Amusing

I sometimes wonder if anyone else reads G. K. Chesterton’s books anymore.  I only know one other person who reads Chesterton, and neither of us knew anyone who had even heard of Chesterton.

That is awfully sad, when you think of it.  So, I wish to encourage you in reading his work, by suggesting what I consider to be his best books.

Alarms and Discursions.  A collection of essays, my favorite of all his books.  I especially recommend the essays The Futurists, and also The Glory of Grey.  One note: in How I Found the Superman, the Superman is not the comic-book Superman; rather, it is the English translation of the Nietzscheian  ideal, the Ubermensch. (I hope I spelled it right.)

Also, do not buy it on the Kindle.  It is missing two verses from The Futurists.

This may be pretty hard to find in print; however, you can try used book bookstores, or the library. (I can tell you that there is a copy in the Illinois system- at least there was in early June, 2012.)

And then another good book is The Man Who Was Thursday.  Very good, very hysterically funny, but the ending is nearly impossible to understand. Perhaps better heads than mine can understand it.

Well, I hope this is enough to start you off with, and I really do hope you enjoy Chesterton’ s writing.  Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews of old and new books

One response to “On Essays that are Amusing

  1. I love Chesterton but hadn’t heard of two essays you mention–“The Futurists” and “The Glory of Grey.” Can’t wait to check those out! If you haven’t already, do read his essay called “The Dragon’s Grandmother.”

Offer a comment, or suggested reading:

