The Once and Future King

I read T. H. White’s The Once and Future King the other day.  I don’t reccomend it; and I shall recount my reasons here.

The book itself is divided into books, minor books I should say.  Well, the first book and a half were quite good, even hysterically funny.  After that, the quality of White’s writing dropped off dramatically, and became a re-hash of Malory.  Also, White got on his hobby-horse and talked about ideals, and politics, and what-not, and got very dry and dull indeed.

I would recommend something other than this, but I’ve forgotten the name of the book that I loved– and I think it’s long out of print, because I can’t find it.  I suppose Malory, whose work I dislike (I blame the Normans for the story of Lancelot and Guenevere.  I’ll explain later.), might be in order, but there is a great deal of work to be found written about Arthur.

Well, I hope you find something better to read about King Arthur, and anyone with any suggestions is welcome to post them in the comment box.

Thank You!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews of old and new books

Offer a comment, or suggested reading:

